American Gaming Association Announces Hall of Fame Class of 2022


Posted: August 17, 2022, 12:01 p.m.

Last update on: August 16, 2022, 01:25h.

The American Gaming Association (AGA) announced its next three Gaming Hall of Fame inductees this week.

American Gaming Association Gaming Hall of Fame 2022
Gavin Isaacs, Virginia McDowell and Michael Rumbolz are part of this year’s Gaming Hall of Fame class. Annual picks are made by the American Gaming Association. (Image:

The AGM announced today that Gavin Isaacs, former President and CEO of Scientific Games, Virginia McDowell, former President and CEO of Isle of Capri Casinos, and Michael Rumbolz, former CEO of Everi Holdings, are ready for the AGM Gaming Hall of Fame.

Since 1989, the AGA’s Gaming Hall of Fame has recognized and honored pioneers and business leaders who have played a vital role in transforming the American gaming industry into what it is today. The casino industry, explains the AGA, is a more than $261 billion business that supports 1.8 million jobs across the country.

Gavin, Virginia and Mike have each helped transform the gaming industry in their own way,” explained AGA President and CEO Bill Miller. “From directing casino and manufacturing operations across the country to participating in a multitude of board and advisory roles, their influence has extended to the American and global gaming industry – and we we’re all better off.”

Isaacs, McDowell and Rumbolz will be officially inducted into the Gaming Hall of Fame at the Global Gaming Expo (GE2) in October in Las Vegas.

Background checks on inductees

The AGM selects its annual Gaming Hall of Fame class through a selection committee led by Hard Rock International President and CEO Jim Allen. This year’s class includes three members who together have over 100 years of experience in leadership roles in the gaming industry.

Isaacs led Scientific Games – now Light & Wonder – in the games maker’s expansion and acquisition of Bally Technologies. Isaacs served as president and CEO of Scientific and served on the company’s board of directors from 2014 to 2018.

Prior to Scientific, Isaacs was CEO of SHFL Entertainment and Executive Vice President of Bally Technologies. Isaacs is now the president of Games Global.

McDowell was the only female president and CEO of a major US-based gaming operator from her appointment at Isle of Capri Casinos in 2007 until her retirement in 2016. Appointed Chief Gaming Officer of the year by Casino Newspaper Magazine in 2009, McDowell had previously worked as Chief Information Officer for Trump Entertainment Resorts.

McDowell is also a co-founder of Global Gaming Women, a non-profit organization that supports, inspires and influences the development of women in the gaming industry. Today, McDowell serves on the board of Entain.

Rumbolz’s more than four-decade career includes many leadership roles. He has worked in all aspects of the gaming industry, his most recent role being CEO of Everi Holdings from 2016 to 2022. Rumbolz remains Everi’s executive chairman.

Prior to joining Everi, Rumbolz was CEO of Cash Systems Inc., Anchor Gaming and Casino Data Systems. He has been a member of the board of Hard Rock International since 2008 and a director of VICI Properties – Caesars Entertainment’s real estate investment trust – since 2017.

Rumbolz also served as Nevada’s Chief Assistant Attorney General and chaired the Nevada Gaming Control Board in the mid-1980s.

AGA room class

The American Gaming Association traditionally nominates three people to join its Gaming Hall of Fame each year.

Steve and Elaine Wynn, Sheldon Adelson, Donald Trump, Kirk Kerkorian, and Jack and Benny Binion are notable former gaming executives who are members of the Gaming Hall of Fame.

In addition to gaming business leaders, entertainers, celebrity chefs and politicians who have had a significant impact on the industry were inducted. Notable inductees not directly involved with the game through an executive business capacity include Celine Dion, Wayne Newton, Don King, Wolfgang Puck, Harry Reid, Frank Sinatra, David Copperfield and Emeril Lagasse.


About Author

Comments are closed.